NBL Division 1 Coach of the Year: Matt Shaw


Matt DSC 1073MdMatt Shaw of Derby Trailblazers has been voted as NBL Division 1 Spalding Coach of the Year for the 2015-16 season. Voted for by his peers, Coach Shaw led Derby to a 19-7 record and 2nd place finish in NBL Division 1. he also led them to an unbeaten league record at home, one which would have extended into the playoffs until they Derby were edged out narrowly in the playoff Semi Final to Reading Rockets.

Other winners include London Greenhouse Pioneers coach Predrag Krneta who had a strong season and with a 16-6 record secured a 3rd place finish. It was a clean sweep for the Women's NBL league winners as 1st place teams Charnwood College Riders, Southwark Pride and Reading Rockets all had their coaches pick up the award. It was twice as nice is Southwark as Men's coach Sterling Muschett claimed the award for NBDL South east Coach of the Year.

A full list of the Coach of the Year winners can be seen below

Coach of the year 2015-16

Division 1 Matt Shaw –Derby Trailblazers
Division 2  Predrag Krneta –London Greenhouse Pioneers
Division 3 North Ian Hewitt –Team Newcastle University
Division 3 South Robert Banks –Thames Valley Cavaliers
NBDL North East Bill Spragg –Gateshead Phoenix
NBDL North West Malcolm Leak –Preston College Titans
NBDL South Gary Smith –Sussex Bears
NBDL South East Sterling Muschett –Southwark Pride
NBDL South West Vic Flemming –Cardiff Met Archers
NBL Women’s North Krumesh Patel –Charnwood College Riders
NBL Women South East Jackson Gibbons –Southwark Pride
NBL Women South West Joshua Thorne –Reading Rockets